Update And Repost: A Great List Of All Of John Key’s Lies Over The Last 8 Years!

Update: BLiP updated the ever growing list of the lies of John Key. I thought I’d repost the earlier one and here are the new entries from the updated one. Way to go BLiPster!

 

John Key’s Lies Regarding The GCSB

Iain Rennie came to me and recommended Fletcher for the GCSB job

I told Cabinet that I knew Ian Fletcher

I forgot that after I scrapped the shortlist for GCSB job I phoned a life-long friend to tell him to apply for the position

I told Iain Rennie I would contact Fletcher

I haven’t seen Ian Fletcher in a long time.

I did not mislead the House (13)

I have no reason to doubt at this stage that Peter Dunne did not leak the GCSB report

I called directory service to get Ian Fletcher’s number

the new legislation narrows the scope of the GCSB

the GCSB has been prevented from carrying out its functions because of the law governing its functions

because the opposition is opposed the GCSB law ammendments, parliamentary urgency is required

the increasing number of cyber intrusions which I can’t detail or discuss prove that the GCSB laws need to be extended to protect prive enterprise

it was always the intent of the GCSB Act to be able to spy on New Zealanders on behalf of the SIS and police

National Ltd™ is not explanding the activities of the GCSB with this new law

cyber terrorists have attempted to gain access to information about weapons of mass destruction held on New Zealand computers

the law which says the GCSB cannot spy on New Zealanders is not clear

it totally incorrect that the Government effectively through GCSB will be able to wholesale spy on New Zealanders

we self identified that there was a problem with the GCSB spying on Kim Dotcom

the illegal spying on Kim Dotcom was an isolated incident

The advice I have had in 4 years as a Minister is that in no way ever has there been an indication of unlawful spying

the Ministerial Warrant signed by Bill English did not cover anything up

first I heard I heard about Kim Dotcom was on 19 January 2012

first I heard about the illegal spying on Kim Dotcom was in 17 September

I did not mislead the House (14)

I won’t be discussing Kim Dotcom during my Hollywood visit.

The Human Rights Commission couldn’t get its submission on the GCSB legislation in on time.

it would cost too much to for the police and SIS to carry out the spying on New Zealanders that this new legislation will permit

critics of the GCSB legislation, including the Law Society, the Human Rights Commission, and the Privacy Commission, are all uninformed

no, I did not mislead the House (15)

I do not know how Mr Henry is conducting the Enquiry

no, I did not mislead the House (16)

the Henry Enquiry had permission to view Ministers’ emails

no, I did not mislead the House (??)

we do not spy on journalists

the passing of phone records to the Henry Enquiry was an error on the part of a contractor

I wasn’t aware that my own Chief of Staff was instructing Parliamentary Services to hand over information concerning journalist Andrea Vance

National Ltd™ has never tried to impinge on the role of the media

I had nothing to do with information on a journalist being handed over to the inquiry into the leaking of the GCSB report

the terms of the enquiry made it clear to everyone that it was only the phone records of parliamentary staff and ministers that were to be provided

I have the utmost respect for the media and the role it plays in New Zealand’s democracy

the Henry Enquiry did not access a journalist’s building-access records

the Henry Enquiry did not ask for phone and email records

no, I did not mislead the House (17)

the Greens are opposed to the GCSB and the SIS even existing

the GCSB needs to spy on New Zealanders because there are al-Qaeda terrorists in New Zealand

John Minto is in the Green Party

the GCSB needs to spy on New Zealanders because of the terrorist threat, even though official reports released over my signature say there is no risk and the SIS has the matter in hand

the GCSB Bill does not give the GCSB the power to look at the content of communications as part of its cyber-security functions

no, I did not mislead the House (18)

Today it is with great pleasure I break one of my house rules: Never link to the Standard, with the greatest of pleasure because my God. did BLiP do a great job of listing every lie from our Prime Minister “the Shonkster”!

New Zealanders put their trust in John Key. As the 2008 election neared, New Zealanders sensed a positive change was in the offing, a change driven by optimism which held out the reassurance that the darkening and ominous clouds heralding financial meltdown gathering around previously rock-solid international banking institutions didn’t have to reach as far as us.

In fact, a multi-millionaire, a man who had made his fortune working with those very institutions had stepped up to offer his talents and to soften any impact such impending fiscal threat imposed. And look – he grew in a solo parent family dependent on a benefit for his family’s very food and rent. He knows struggle street, he’ll look after us, he’s one of us. Consider his own example; that’s how we work things out – be positive, couple our innate Kiwi optimism with a sturdy and aspirational mind-set to embrace a new New Zealand offered by John Key.

Sure, we can make mistakes, heh, just look at all that silly fuss about the Coldplay song on that promotion CD the nice smiling John Key sent to us. He won’t let us down. Yes, its time for a change. And guess what? John Key has promised live on television to never lie and to always do his best.

Now, four-and-a-half years later we know that was his first lie, and it certainly wasn’t going to be his last. And these are only the ones we know about. In fact, as the litany of lies still spills from John Key, it must be asked: is the litany orchestrated?

You decide. Take the “power” back.

01 – I promise to always be honest

02 – We’re not proposing to change the Employment Relations Act in a way that weakens unions

03 – we are not going to sack public servants, the attrition rate will reduce costs

04 – we are not going to cut working for families

05 – I firmly believe in climate change and always have

06 – We seek a 50% reduction in New Zealand’s carbon-equivalent net emissions, as compared to 1990 levels, by 2050. 50 by 50. We will write the target into law.

07 – National Ltd™ will provide a consistent incentive for both biofuel and biodiesel by exempting them from excise tax or road user charges

08 – I didn’t know about The Bretheren election tactics

09 – If they came to us now with that proposal [re trans-Tasman Therapeutic Goods regime], we will sign it

10 – I can’t remember my position on the 1981 Springbok Tour

11 – Tranzrail shares

12 – I did not mislead the House (1)

13 – Lord Ashcroft

14 – National Ltd™ would not have sent troops into Iraq

15 – Standard & Poors credit downgrade

16 – the double-down grade doesn’t really matter and its only about private sector debt

17 – I did not mislead the House (2)

18 – I didn’t say I want wages to drop

19 – the real rate of inflation is 3.3 percent.

20 – the tourism sector has not lost 7,000 jobs

Read more

5 thoughts on “Update And Repost: A Great List Of All Of John Key’s Lies Over The Last 8 Years!

  1. ……add the fact that if Key wasn’t in Government, well, Labour or Mana would be in charge. This generation would be damned.

    • and we’re not now, crime is up, poverty is epidemic, and wages haven’t changed in 8 years while everything else has gone up, of course if you believe the stories they tell, they didn’t change the burglary figures in South Auckland and John Key cares about the ordinary people of NZ, wake up and smell the BULLSHIT

Leave a comment