On Football Madness And Genocide Or Why I Don’t Give A Fuck About Grown Men Kicking A Ball For Millions Of $

When I was a child, I was speaking as a child, I was led as a child, I was thinking as a child, but when I became a man, I ceased these childish things. Corinthians 13:11 Aramaic Bible in Plain English

I’m Dutch. This mere fact makes people at the moment very exited. It seems, you see, that the Dutch football team is the global favorite in the current wold cup football games held in Brazil.

So by association it seems I am allowed to bask in their glory. I have friends of Dutch descent who now talk about football in the “we” form: “We are in the semi finals.” One of them doesn’t even speak Dutch. They have lived their whole lives in both Australia and New Zealand. I love them but it makes me wonder what is going on here. These are sensible middle aged women awake to the horrors of the world. So what gives?

Let me first say that I love watching a football game in a stadium when I’m in the mood. I, like most people, still have a child in there somewhere and I like to play but this is insanity. If every human being going mad over 24 adult and very rich guys kicking a ball over a field would go mad over the wars, the financial frauds, the collapsing economy and the 0.01% stealing the worlds wealth as we speak we would not have any problems.

So why do we allow ourselves to be led like children? Why do we not say to ourselves hang on a minute. I am a grown up, I have done away with childish things and I will not be led, like a lamb to slaughter, into watching this insanity while my brothers and sisters get bombed, while children get killed because they did not fit in the picture of this propaganda insanity.

We have problems to solve, peace to make and justice to pursue and when I grew up I did away with childish things so I could be part of that and after the work is done we can play and enjoy the sun while we bask in the peacefulness of knowing we have  done good.

 

One thought on “On Football Madness And Genocide Or Why I Don’t Give A Fuck About Grown Men Kicking A Ball For Millions Of $

  1. I’m of Dutch descent also and concur! The fact that children have been murdered to ‘clean up the streets’ cannot be glossed over.

Leave a comment