Gun Control: The Big Picture

Let me just say that I very much subscribe to the sentiments of Washington’s blog. I grew up in the aftermath of WWII in a gun free country. Not even the police carried guns and I never thought I would ever subscribe to the the right of a man/woman to bear arms.

But in a country where Homeland security runs a fascist security unit called the TSA and has bought enough hollow point bullets to kill of the entire population two times over I think that it is of the utmost importance that every Sane human being makes sure he can defend himself.

To most Americans what happened at the Sandy Hook elementary school is no longer an isolated incident perpetrated by a deranged lone nutter but a sign of a deeply disturbed society and I think that is a good thing.

Here is Washington’s blog take on gun control:

Why The Founding Fathers, Gandhi and the Dalai Lama Are All AGAINST Gun Control

I was surprised to learn that two of the best-known promoters of nonviolence in history were not opposed to guns. Indeed, Mahatma Gandhi taught that we must first be brave enough to use guns to defend ourselves, and only then can we be qualified to use non-violent methods. For example, Gandhi wrote in his book, An Autobiography (page 446):

Among the many misdeeds of the British rule in India, history will look upon the Act depriving a whole nation of arms, as the blackest … if we want to learn the use of arms, here is a golden opportunity.

As Gandhi wrote in Doctrine of the Sword:

I do believe that where there is only a choice between cowardice and violence I would advise violence.

***

When my eldest son asked me what he should have done, had he been present when I was almost fatally assaulted in 1908, whether he should have run away and seen me killed or whether he should have used his physical force which he could and wanted to use, and defended me, I told him that it was his duty to defend me even by using violence.

***

Hence also do I advocate training in arms for those who believe in the method of violence. I would rather have India resort to arms in order to defend her honor than that she should in a cowardly manner become or remain a helpless witness to her own dishonor.

In Between Cowardice And Violence, Gandhi wrote:

He who cannot protect himself or his nearest and dearest or their honour by non-violently facing death may and ought to do so by violently dealing with the oppressor. He who can do neither of the two is a burden. He has no business to be the head of a family. He must either hide himself, or must rest content to live for ever in helplessness and be prepared to crawl like a worm at the bidding of a bully …

[When violence] is offered in self-defence or for the defence of the defenceless, it is an act of bravery far better than cowardly submission.

Read more

Leave a Reply

