Facebook accused of massive ‘data grab’ with new service that automatically uploads your phone pictures

Facebook has been accused of a massive ‘data grab’ after encouraging users to allow it to automatically synchronise photos from their mobile devices to the social networks servers.

The social network from Friday began asking users of its mobile apps to activate its new Photo Sync, which will automatically upload each picture to a private album.

Whether or not users decide share the photos on their public newsfeed, Facebook itself will still have access.

That means it will be able to mine those files for their metadata, including the location where the photo was taken, as well as use its facial recognition technology to spot those pictured.

Photo Sync: The new function being promoted to users of Facebook’s mobile apps will automatically upload pictures taken from mobile devices to the company’s servers – where they can be mined for data

As a result, over time, Facebook will be able to build up a comprehensive database of where users have been, and with whom, from information they automatically give to the company.

Emma Carr, deputy director of civil liberties campaign group Big Brother Watch, said: ‘This provides a stark warning about the loss of control experienced once you have installed an application to your mobile phone.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s