OK, I’ll say it; I’m pissed off and insulted: Why did the Standard change my blogname?

Update: IPrent, the webmaster of the Standard has updated the blogroll and Changed my Blog name to it’s full glory.

Thank you IPrent for being straight up.

At the moment I’m working on a new look for my blog and in my search for inspiration I decided to check the code behind blogs I like and one of those blogs is the Standard. To my surprise I found a link purporting to link to my blog but when I looked for my blog in the blog roll I could not find it. What I did find was a part of my name and sure enough when I clicked it I was linked through to my blog.

Here is a combined screen dump of both the site and the source code:


My mangled blog name and the link to my blog

My mangled blogname and the link to my blog

I was a tat befuddled about this and decided to check if this was a policy of the Standard in order to perhaps better manage the blogroll size but no, every other name with the exception of the CAFCA blog had their entire name mentioned.

Now CAFCA or watchblog – the online tool for the Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa as it is officially named is generally known by its acronym so that makes sense but no other blog had their name changed or mangled beyond recognisability. So no Curmudgeon for The Irascible Curmudgeon or Idle fellow for Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow, Highway one for Born on state highway one, hell even Auckland Transport blog had their whole name mentioned. Every blog except mine had their whole name mentioned and was properly linked to their blog and that is how it should be.

So why was the name of my blog mangled to the point of being unrecognisable? I can only come up with one thing but what a childish thing that would be.

When I started commenting on the Standard I was almost without exception ridiculed for my opinions about the events of 911 and the international banking world to which I contented John Key belonged. In fact I was almost banned for doing so and only the opinions of a few of their steady readers kept them from banning me at that time.

Times and some of the authors have changed and I no longer am the house nutter. In fact more and more readers of the Standards seem to openly doubt the official version of the 911 events and it seems to me that with linking to my blog even with the mangled name the Standard has made a kneefall and is acknowledging the validity of my blog and that can only be a good thing.

After all I work hard to bring alternative information to my readers and I do so with the greatest integrity and dedication. You may not like the information I gather and in fact you may think I’m nuts but there you have it. Take it or leave it and it seems the Standard (and not the dard or the Stand) has decided to take it.

But… and that is a big but it seems that the Standardistas (as the Standard authors point out they are a collective) do not want to wholeheartedly admit to doing so and as far as I’m concerned they are breaking a rule that I take very seriously. Thou shall not mangle another blogs name in order to have your cake and eat it too.

In other words if my blog is worth linking to it is worth linking to with its full name. Just like every other blog the site links too. If you can’t be bothered to do so then kindly take my mangled name of you blogroll.

Although to do so now would be incredibly petty so come on guys, I work hard for my blog so why not give me the recognition the link suggests you think I deserve.

Leave a Reply

